yall should all get lynched

Comments

• noznoz 3,625 Posts
    I cant believe people are trying to diss for trying to promote positivity.

Complaining about negativity doesn't necessarily promote positivity.

• FatbackFatback 6,746 Posts
    I monitor and evaluate over $6 million in initiatives for troubled adolescents throughout VA. The worst places in this state are Richmond, Petersburg, Danville, Norfolk and Portsmouth. And over 95% of these kids are black. We have put therapists and case managers inside the detention centers to try to help these young people. People, things are really bad in these "smaller" urban areas and getting worse--outpacing crime rates in larger areas by 10 to 1. It shocks me and makes me feel helpless even though I've had a lot of experience with this in DC and B-more. Before this VA job, (and why I never watch the Wire--too close to home) I worked in drug treatment clinics and in-home services in North B-more and East B-more--all the way through Dundalk. I worked with pregnant adolescents who were prescribed methadone and had currently relapsed into their coke habits. Every week I saw hundreds of pregnant girls line up for their methadone. The average age was 17. I was also in graduate school at Johns Hopkins at the time. The difference between the Hopkins enviroment and only 2-3 blocks over in North B-more would destroy me. Matter of fact, just thinking about it, I can feel myself getting weak and sinking in my chair. I could describe many other experiences like this from DC. I just wanted share this to say that these things make me want to single out something, someone, somewhere to point the finger--which is fine for venting--but really getting shit done requires a long hard look in the mirror. People will try to blame everything from rap to pork to pants sizes. But let's face it, these are the lingering effects of slavery and this society continues to distance itself from real discussion about this. That's so sad.