Post an obscure fact.

Comments

• i love those facts. i'm a botanist, so i really care!

a walnut is noz a nut, but a lychee is. GO FIGURE!

I love these facts too, but I'm just a biochemist so I have little knowledge of plants and animals above the molecular level. Here's one of my favorite lists:

Some fruits and seeds that are nuts in the culinary sense but not in the botanical sense:

Almond[/b] is the edible seed of a drupe ??? the leathery "flesh" is removed at harvest.
    Brazil nut[/b] is the seed from a capsule.
    Candlenut[/b] (used for oil) is a seed.
    Cashew nut[/b] is a seed.
    Coconut[/b] is a dry, fibrous drupe.
    Horse-chestnut[/b] is an inedible capsule.
    Macadamia nut[/b] is a creamy white kernel (Macadamia integrifolia).
    Malabar chestnut[/b]
    Mongongo[/b]
    Peanut[/b] is a legume and a seed.
    Pine nut[/b] is the seed of several species of pine (coniferous trees).
    Pistachio[/b] nut is the seed of a thin-shelled drupe.
    Lychee[/b] is a member of the soapberry family, in which its berrylike fruits can be eaten fresh or sundried as nuts.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nut_%28fruit%29

I'd like a Hershey Bar with MONGONGO[/b] plaese...

• listen, species becoming extinct is part of Eltons Circle of Life.

And if (when) we as a species are directly responsible, i guess you could consider it sad.

Wow, this is probably the dumbest f u c k i n g thing I've ever read on Soulstrut. You don't think humans are responsible for any species going extinct?!?

• jaymackjaymack 5,199 Posts
    From wikipedia:

Soulstrut currently has 63 registered members viewing this forum and 131 anonymous users are browsing this forum. Anonymous users are often refered to as "lurkers" by some of the forum's registered members. Registered members with a considerable amount of knowledge are often known as "real headz (sic)."