Nasty food you can't stand to watch people eat...!

Comments

• shit that makes me want to vomit would be any kind of liver, spam (that shit dont look right)
    this shit

oysters and muscles are pretty nasty too.

• bull_oxbull_ox 5,056 Posts
    tilapia (shitty shitty quality fish that thrives in tepid filthy waters--props to whatever marketing genius was able to get this one into rotation in American markets and dinner tables)

Explain. I had Tilapia for the first time at a Senegalian restaurant and I liked it. I'm new to eating fish so I'm not sure what a great fish and what isn't.

I'm rather picky with fish and I dig tilapia... it is suspiciously cheap though

• ok,

first of all,
    salt mackeral...many countries and cultures have ways of preserving proteins with salt. this is some timeless shit. as for jamaican salt mackeral i can;t really say. it sounds like a whole mackeral preserved in salt which is then soaked to remove the salt and then used in the repice. probably delicious.
    the malaysian salted mackeral i'm referring to has actually been allowed to ferment. it is then preserved in salt and then used to flavor certain dishes. it's not just salted cured and air dried. the flavor is much more intense.

as for tilapia...no, there's nothing really wrong with it. but it's just a farm raised fish that thrives in warm dirty water. from a commercial perspective it's great because it's a low maintenence farm raised fish that you could probably raise in a swimming pool minus the chlorine. in other words, it's the kind of fish that goes into cat food.
    not that it's bad for you, but just about any other fish you can buy will taste better and is better for you. try to buy anything wild...salmon, tuna, fluke, halibut, anything. something that comes from the ocean. just today i was in a fish store and there was a sign saying that the tilapia was farm raised in VT. VT? VT is land locked. it's at least 60m from the atlantic ocean. are you kidding me?