Grad school, full time job, and a baby...

Controller_7Controller_7 4,052 Posts
edited November 2010 in Strut Central
I start school in January. I work full time and we've got a one year old daughter. Anybody else go back to school while working and raising kids? I graduated from college almost ten years ago and the idea of doing homework has me shook.

Any similar experiences, advice?

Comments

• AlmondAlmond 1,427 Posts
    What type program will you be pursuing? I'm currently a grad student of economics and I work part-time. The program was manageable in the beginning, but at this point it is brutal.

I have 1-2 assignments per class due every week and spend a good deal of time crunching data in Stata and EViews. My program is pretty small (10-20 students in my year). Only 2 students have kids and only 2 or 3 work full-time.

I strongly suggest working part-time or not at all. It helps to have an understanding employer as well. I'm young, single, childless and have a supportive family and it's still hard.

• JUDJUD 82 Posts
    I'm just finishing my master's in information studies. The first semester was rough, mostly getting used to the rhythm of things, but the following semesters were not bad, though always hectic. There have definitely been people in my program doing what you're doing, but they didn't look happy. I worked part-time and supplemented with more flexible TA and GRA positions, but it sounds like you may be attached to a real-world job. Where are you going to school for library science? Feel free to PM with any questions.

• JimsterJimster Cruffiton.etsy.com 6,885 Posts
    Controller_7 said:
    I start school in January. I work full time and we've got a one year old daughter. Anybody else go back to school while working and raising kids? I graduated from college almost ten years ago and the idea of doing homework has me shook.