Veteran of the Strut? SUMMARIZE YOURSELF

BeatChemistBeatChemist 1,465 Posts
edited July 2005 in Strut Central
Are you a total strut nerd who has been here since the conception?Do you 'hold it down' for the strut?Do you often strut in public?WELL THEN IT"S TIME TO MAN UP!As a relative newcomer, I'd like to know a little bit more about the regulars. Just basic rundown shit - what you do for a living, music you're feeling hard right now, where you post from (work, home, etc)... whatever. Just a little info so you're more than a screen name making continual inside jokes with other strut vets. Consider this thread a little class in soulstrut socio-political history.WORD

Comments

• motown67motown67 4,513 Posts
    Well I guess I'm first.

35 years old. Live in Berkeley, CA. I'm a high school teacher. 9th and 12th graders for going on 10 years now. Teach at Oakland Technical High School. District is fucked up, school doesn't give a shit, homework kills my brain, still wouldn't do anything else, and hey I get paid vacations! Like right now!

Usually post from home. When school's in I only have a little bit of free time to do so because my girlfriend wants my attention and so does my kid. My girlfriend likes to call my computer "The Square Headed Bitch," and has threatened to "Kick its ass" time to time because I spend a lot of time with it. I use to read every single post on the Strut, but because of the time constraint and the sheer mass of posts these days I hardly read most of them unless it piques my interest but I still feel this is one of the places I HAVE to check at least once a day.

Listen to all kinds of stuff, as long as its catchy and has a hook. My roots are in basic Soul and Funk. Getting more into European stuff these days.

Been writing record reviews of everything I listen to for 4 years now I think. Over 2600 so far and still going.