i know what i want to do with my life

behemothbehemoth 2,189 Posts
edited December 2007 in Strut Central
i want to expose children to music. i want to help them bang on drums and pick up guitars.when i was growing up i didn't have access to music. you were only exposed to band or orchestral shit in elementary school. playing percussion meant manning one single drum. a triangle even....there were no bass guitars or acoustic onesthere were no creative song writing programsnothing like that.why is that?i want to change that but then again i have no formal childhood education degree. i am just good with kids. especially if they like music.i am buggin but i am also serious

Comments

• djannadjanna 1,543 Posts
    DO IT

• [quote
    DO IT

• behemothbehemoth 2,189 Posts
    DO IT

yea. but how does one get into something like that?

won't people frown on the idea that i am not a professional music teacher? not even a professional general education teacher?

that seems to be the only thing limiting me. the whole legality and degree thing involved with it.

• much needed

DO IT

yea. but how does one get into something like that?

won't people frown on the idea that i am not a professional music teacher? not even a professional general education teacher?

that seems to be the only thing limiting me. the whole legality and degree thing involved with it.

now that i think of it. children at that young of an age (unless they are geniuses) aren't going to understand music theory and stuff anyway.

so i guess that is ok.

but still.

what do you suggest i do?

approach my local high school and talk to the teachers about instituting a program like that? finding local musicians to do work shops?

etc