People sharing your album: how to react?

Comments

• RockadelicRockadelic Out Digging 13,993 Posts
    What about the immensely positive quality of life impact all of this free music is having on hundreds of millions of people? If I was a frequently downloaded artist, I think the knowledge of the good I was doing alone would sustain me in my musical endeavors.

That knowledge won't buy too many Latin raers!!

• RockadelicRockadelic Out Digging 13,993 Posts
    I honestly can't come to grips with the concept that music should be free.

Software engineers should just be flattered that people are taking their life's work and making copies without paying??

• KaushikKaushik 320 Posts

I think the problem with this argument is that while the transaction cost of the work approaches zero, the cost of producing the work remains relatively high. A major purpose of copyright is to ensure the production of future works; when copyright is ignored by the consumer, as in your argument, no future works are created. I think the logical conclusion of your argument is a world where pre-existing works are freely transferred but almost no new works are created. There will always be people who produce new works at their own expense and those that rely on live performance to support their art, but outside of this minority it will no longer be viable to support oneself in music. My guess is that this is not what people want, consumers included.

An alternative is the Cuban system of the 70s where the government simply gave musicians a living wage and released their music on the national label. Personally, I don't want the government playing that kind of role in our culture.

Interesting, and just so you know, I'm not arguing that the "everything is free" view is correct, legal, moral or whatever. Just looking at the music biz from a pragmatic standpoint.