People sharing your album: how to react?

Danno3000Danno3000 2,850 Posts
edited April 2007 in Strut Central
People have shared my Cuban comp on a number of Internet forums. I get fairly peeved when I see someone raving about the CD while offering a yousendit link so his buddies can download it. At first I called up the website admins and had them remove the links, but now I wonder whether I should just let it go. It'll be some time before I don't feel the loss of every CD that is downloaded instead of purchased. I haven't heard any convincing arguments for why I should countenance people stealing my music. It's not as if I'm an artist who can tour or finds comfort in the idea of people listening to my work even if they don't pay for it; I spent a lot of time and money to reissue otherwise inaccessible music and I feel that if people want to hear it they ought to fork out the very reasonable tax. Should I continue with my threatening phone call rampage, or should I just hope that if people like what they download they'll buy a copy? Yes

Comments

• this is a tough one. First, ask yourself, Am I trying to get paid off this one album? If you're really trying to then maybe you should call. But be honest. A lot of people think they're gonna drop a mixtape and be rich off one of them. Odds are it's not gonna happen.

two.. are you gonna keep putting more out? If you have a next tape ready to go, free publicity is good and it will probably eventually catch on and start selling well to the point dl's won't bug you.

three.. if you stop it, will anyone buy it??? Is getting your name out more important then sales?

It's tough. If I were you, i would just post on each site a link to where they can buy it and tell them if they like, PLEASE buy it.

• faux_rillzfaux_rillz 14,343 Posts

Should I continue with my threatening phone call rampage, or should I just hope that if people like what they download they'll buy a copy?