The Pepsi Challenge- Catch A Fire Style

DrWuDrWu 4,021 Posts
edited February 2007 in Strut Central
A record that I have been listening to for almost 25 years. Never gets boring. Now you can hear it as it was first conceived. The deluxe edition of the The Wailers' Catch A Fire is a two-disc set. Disc one contains the original JA mix delivered to Chris Blackwell, head of Island records. Blackwell decided that the mix needed tweaking and had some American style slide guitar thrown into the mix as well as some polishing of the sound. Catch A Fire was a huge crossover break through sending BMW into the international pop music market. Now you can judge for yourself if Blackwell made the right move or not. Link 1 is the JA mix and Link 2 is the Island Records original release mix. Some songs sound quite a like but others such as Stir It Up are noticeably different. DL them both and you make the call. There is a unreleased track as a bonus for your efforts. Catch a Fire JA Mix Catch a Fire Island Records Mix

Comments

• PrimeCutsLtdPrimeCutsLtd jersey fresh 2,632 Posts
    this has been out for awhile. Both versions are great. I got to tell you though I like the Chris Blackwell version. I'm sure strutter purists will choose the other.

• BurnsBurns 2,227 Posts
    alright another challenge, very easy:

Jacob Miller - "Girl Name Pat" or "Girl Name Pat - version"

red
    or
    blue

jah

• DrWuDrWu 4,021 Posts
    Here the short version of the challenge: 2 different versions of Stir It Up. First is the original release Island Mix and below is the JA version.

• DrWuDrWu 4,021 Posts
    alright another challenge, very easy:

Jacob Miller - "Girl Name Pat" or "Girl Name Pat - version"

red
    or
    blue

jah

SOrry but I couldn't think of anything when I first read your post.

• ZEN2ZEN2 1,540 Posts
    The JA mix definitely wins in my book. The Wailers never needed any studio trickery mucking up their sound.

• here is a challenge...how do you open an .rar file???