BEAT STREET RECORDS R.I.P.

tonyphronetonyphrone 1,500 Posts
edited March 2016 in Record Collecting

I cant believe this... I guess Vinyl is really dying out. It's really sad - I loved Beat Street - a good percentage of my collection is from there.NY heads - is this old news?

Comments

• dayday 9,612 Posts
    wow. that is fucked up.

• yeh. I know the guy that bought their inventory. baller.

• that guy in the video really needs to step up to relative mode

• Wasn't this place hurting for a while pre-Microwave?

• pjl2000xlpjl2000xl 1,795 Posts
    Wasn't this place hurting for a while pre-Microwave?
    yeah i remember that they closed down for a while a few years ago. I didnt know they reopened at all after that. It was one of my favorite places to cop hip hop wax in Brooklyn. And the reggae room was ill. rip.

• izm707izm707 1,107 Posts
    really sad...i've been htting the spot since 1995/96. They had all those Bobby Konders joints for the parties. And if my memory dont fail me, they used to to have some nice VHS too. Damn it was there that i found my Stunts, Bluns and Hip-Hop copy too.

On a related note, i heard that Tower Records is about to close too. 2700 stores shut down. Is that accurate???

• kalakala 3,358 Posts
    yeah
    to quote h.claufield

"it's sad as hell"

a bklyn hip hop institution fades
    when you were in that shop it just felt like the epitome of New York hip hop
    my homie's brother did security there forever,calls himself the brown hornet
    they have been keeping sporadic hours the last year
    the dvd section was a huge source of kung fu/horror/action on the cheap[3.99-9.99]
    new hip hop/mixes/remixes for days
    i made it a point to cop almost all of the dusty fingers joints @9.99 there.
    soemone on fulton will step up they game to fill in the void...........?