Blues~Psych~Soul Suggestions

drewnicedrewnice 5,465 Posts
edited November 2015 in Music Talk
I don't have that good of a feel for how deep this sub-genre is, because I'm pretty brand new to the blues in the first place. All I know is that I've really been feeling that Don Covay "House of Blue Lights," similar feel to the Black Merda and Electric Mud, but what else is out there that sounds like this?Any suggestions?

Comments

• SoulhawkSoulhawk 3,197 Posts
    Funkadelic

---

• The_NonThe_Non 5,691 Posts
    Not really soundalike, but Flaming Ember put out some tasty Soul Psych stuff.

• edwards generation.

• drewnicedrewnice 5,465 Posts
    Any blues heads on here?

• faux_rillzfaux_rillz 14,343 Posts
    I don't have that good of a feel for how deep this sub-genre is, because I'm pretty brand new to the blues in the first place. All I know is that I've really been feeling that Don Covay "House of Blue Lights," similar feel to the Black Merda and Electric Mud, but what else is out there that sounds like this?

Any suggestions?

Have you checked The Howling Wolf Album?

• SoulhawkSoulhawk 3,197 Posts
    Bo Diddley 'Black Gladiator'?

---

• bull_oxbull_ox 5,056 Posts
    Chess/Cadet is probably the home of most of this genre

And while it isn't a great record, this one fits the bill:

• The_NonThe_Non 5,691 Posts
    Free Beer and Chicken by John Lee Hooker is decent too.

Looking and sounding good folks, thanks for the additional drops.

• DrJoelDrJoel 932 Posts
    Hooker N Heat is nice. John Lee Hooker and Canned Heat...double LP if i remember right. Lots of Hook just talking too for the samplers.

• pointmanpointman 1,042 Posts
    edwards generation.

DIE.

• RockadelicRockadelic Out Digging 13,993 Posts
    The Mr.Cix LP "Country Boy, City Man" on the Haze label out of L.A.

• hcrinkhcrink 8,729 Posts