How to start a (budget) 45 collection???

SoulificSoulific 103 Posts
edited November 2005 in Record Collecting
Hi there!I've been collecting lps for like 16 yrs, but now that i turned 30 i feel like expanding my horizons and to explore the world of 45s a little bit. But how to start? My taste developed so much over the years that building up a collection of let??s say northern soul would bore me within a short periode of time. But should I collect all styles I feel? That would be everything related to soul, funk, latin, disco and so on and so on. I think focussing on one genre might be the wrong start for me.How did you guy get into 45s? I bought some over the years. But it??s only a bunch of 50 or something. Should I buy some lot??s. By the way money is a very big issue for me, cause i haven??t got plenty to spend. So mad, mint, superrear, private 45s are nothing i could afford. Especially because I live in Europe, Germany to be precise and 45s are not that common around here. Eventhough we got some mad freaks and serious heads here aswell. As you probably already know.Thanks,Sebastian

Comments

• KineticKinetic 3,739 Posts
    I never bought 45s until this one time when this woman who used to run the record fairs in Sydney invited me over to her place and said she had some stuff she thought I would be interested in. At the time I only had LPs, and this woman only had 45s! I was a little dissappointed at first, but she was charge $5 for anything she had, so I bought maybe 40-50 of them and then wondered if I'd wasted my money on the way home - this was early on in my digging days!

But from there that was really the basis of my collection.

So what am I trying to say? I dunno really, but maybe it's a good idea to buy collections or lots to start you off.

• djrdjr 511 Posts