World Cup sh*t tawk

Comments

• OkemOkem 4,617 Posts
    Italy bossed it tbf. We always looked vulnerable down that left flank and they exploited it fully. Pirlo is a fucking amazing player for sure, for all the hype Gerard gets he's just nowhere near that kind of quality.

As improved as England were and as happy as I am to see the kind of squad I've been asking for for several years now, we still don't really have the technique to compete with the top teams. When they wanted to Italy just walked through us, ok they didn't actually threaten our goal too often, but they gave up after their second goal and settled for defending their lead.
    They'd just give the ball to Pirlo, who'd check for the long ball, then lay it off to a wide player in space around the halfway mark, who'd immediately knock it to someone in space more central, who would then have options of going back out wide to either wingforward or wingback, or another player in space centrally, and all this happens in 1 or 2 touches. England on the other hand would knock it wide then it would either be a hopeful ball down the wing, a ball centrally to a marked player going nowhere, or they'd stand there doing the 'somebody give me an option' dance, by which point it's too late and it's knocked back to a CB.