When is it Time...

TheKindCromangTheKindCromang 1,463 Posts
edited February 2013 in Strut Central
to replace your needles? I've been rocking a pair of Shure M44-7s for about three years now.
Is it time to get some new needles?
How often/frequently do you replace? How do you know when the time has come for some new ones?

Thanks!

Comments

• ElectrodeElectrode Los Angeles 3,085 Posts
    When the highs/treble start to hiss.

• Yep. As soon as your high hats hiss. I try to have a fresh stylus around so I can swap it in and see the difference. Often I am surprised how bad the highs sounds and I didn't notice before throwing on the new stylus.

• If you use them on the reg, then three years is definitely past time to replace.

Trumpet, especially muted, is another telltale instrument.

• Ever thought of getting a 50x jewelers lens?

If you see ( ) you good, if you see / replace.

now please send a 45 or Lp as thanks.
    Pm for address.
    *this goes for everybody

Kindly,
    GT

• GatorToof said:
    Ever thought of getting a 50x jewelers lens?

Pm for address.
    *this goes for everybody

Kindly,
    GT

Whaaa?

• Gatortoof, Whaaa.

• JimsterJimster Cruffiton.etsy.com 6,889 Posts
    bennyboy said:
    Gatortoof, Whaaa.

He is talking about needle point shape through a 50x lens and blagging chud.

• I know. Was more a response to TKC.

• GatorToof said:
    Ever thought of getting a 50x jewelers lens?

Pm for address.
    *this goes for everybody

Kindly,
    GT

Whoa Gay Dar Tooth, easy hes just asking a simple qst.

• Gotta love it when somebody asks for payment for the most basic of favors and then signs his invoice with 'Kindly'.

• Gatortrolled.

• ElectrodeElectrode Los Angeles 3,085 Posts

• I gave it some thought, did the research.

Everybody's time is worth something.
    Thanks for the consideration.
    :wink:

• yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts
    Replaced mine recently and sound quality is def better.

• JectWonJectWon (@_@) 1,654 Posts