Bicycles

Comments

• HollafameHollafame 844 Posts
    Our unusually mild winter, while bad news for the climate-change skeptics, netted a ton of unexpected days in the saddle.

• dukeofdelridgedukeofdelridge urgent.monkey.mice 2,453 Posts
    a few bike adventures, but our winter has been going A.P.E.
    :bizzo:

• CBearCBear 902 Posts
    My nice older Trek got stolen out of my garage over Thanksgiving weekend. I've barely been riding since then. Daylight savings time has given me the incentive to stop pouting and build myself a new bike. I've never built one from the ground up before. All parts are used and were either from Craigslist or take-offs from local shops over the last week and a half. I hodge-podged it together quickly for pretty cheap.

2011 Raleigh Record Ace Steel frame.
    Mostly Sram Red except for the crankset, front derailleur, and bottom bracket because the Sram stuff is supposed to be weak there.
    It's almost done. I need to log some miles today and make sure the fit is right before I put the bar tape on. Also need to decide on a pedal system. I always had toe clips before.
    I'll be ditching the Sram Red brakes for some used Dura Aces. They work fantastic, but aren't the right color (elbows).
    I've got a Ritchey Classic stem and seat tube on order to enhance the retro-racer look.
    Very excited. I'm really liking the Sram shifting.

• The-gafflerThe-gaffler 2,190 Posts
    built this up as my daily bruiser..

this is cool: these dudes always make fun of my 24", saying it looks stupid. A 22" bike could be more stable than a 20" without "looking so dumb."

the 24" is twitchy enough for me, but whatever. Thought I'd share with BikeStrutteurz.

CBear: looking good, but what's up with those bars? I don't know how my hands could get in that bend. (I guess it's more about your hands, but what's up?)

• The wife and I just picked up a pair of these folding bikes:
    Tern Link C7

• CBearCBear 902 Posts
    dukeofdelridge said: