Death by association / backlash is a hurting thing

luckluck 4,077 Posts
edited November 2007 in Strut Central
Jesus Christ must have had dreadlocks. Simon Peter must have been a hipster. I draw these suppositions from the modern-day parable of The Tripartite Denial Of Sweet Rasta Jesus, or, The Least-Cool Musician Ever.I first became aware of the crushing, soul-sucking power of The Wrong Fans when The Smoking Popes took a religious detour, but the phenomenon really socked me in the face when I hit art school. Groups or bands I'd innocently appreciated within the vacuum of high school and my earlier college experience (Marley, Weezer, U2, R.E.M.) were quickly seen as verboten. The effect thickened when I graduated and plugged into Culture.Backlash, I suppose, is when the back-row crowd sneaks out to watch tomorrow's show later that night. Popular music acts rarely age toward artistic relevance, and when coupled with an aging fan base and overmarketing, a was-band can take on a ghastly, co-opted Eaglesstank. Racial concerns only make the situation worse. As it directly relates to this principle, I get the sense that most socially-aware white folks within five years of me (either way) cannot seriously listen to Marley or The Wailers or Maybe All Reggae Ever. They don't want to be privy to Outside Devil Hands. I understood this; I felt like a dirty colonialist, too. Especially at outdoor music festivals when aging, token Johnny Bark-types do the hippie shuffle and sing "One Love" at the top of their lungs. But the worst effect of backlash is when the entire accomplishments of a once-lauded creative entity are called into question and dismissed with a white-belted backhand. Was I ever so young to listen to this sub-par kiddie stuff? DONE that. Like the hipster version of the fountain Mr. DeLeon never found.So for years, my refrain was the same regarding All Things Marley: I know not this man. This feat is especially hard to pull off when you are as white as a snowbound