How do you record your mixes?

saulgravysaulgravy 112 Posts
edited May 2007 in Strut Central
i'm trying to record a live mix from my turntables to goldwave. seems ok so far.. what does everyone use to make mix cds? anyone still use cassettes?

Comments

• KineticKinetic 3,739 Posts
    This is a good question. I am getting ready to make a lot more mixes and burn them to CD. I'm thinking Audacity would be ok to do it with. Does anyone have experiences recording mixes to audacity and if so, are there any settings and things I should be aware of?

• ayresayres 1,452 Posts
    I've been using Cool Edit for about 5 years for recording mixes. I just got an MBox so now I'm on Pro Tools. For straight live recording, I record straight into Microwave using the Rane TTM 57 mixer.

• cd recorder like a tascam CDRW 700 or 900 is another option, just track mark after the fact. very stable, never gets digi clips.

• anyone seen or mess with this:

korg mr-1

• DrBorisQDrBorisQ 298 Posts
    What gear do you currently have? Having a decent soundcard is half the battle imo.

In the past I've gone from the mixer straight into pro tools, then done a little bit of subtle mastering using plug-ins like waves or ozone. I don't have access to a pro tools rig now though

You can just as easily use something like cubase or adobe audition. People say good things about audacity too, but personally i've never used it.

• DJPrestigeDJPrestige 1,710 Posts
    Pro Tools M Box. I'm digging it.

• holmesholmes 3,532 Posts
    This is a good question. I am getting ready to make a lot more mixes and burn them to CD. I'm thinking Audacity would be ok to do it with. Does anyone have experiences recording mixes to audacity and if so, are there any settings and things I should be aware of?