Career Advice???

Big_StacksBig_Stacks "I don't worry about hittin' power, cause I don't give 'em nuttin' to hit." 4,670 Posts
edited December 2006 in Strut Central
Hey,I have some SERIOUS decisions to make career-wise. I just wanted to bounce them off of the 'Strut's brain trust. First, I go up for tenure at my current university this upcoming Wednesday (December 6th). As a tenured professor, I am promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor, meaning I have a job there for life outside of committing a crime. It is the ultimate in job security. I am told by senior faculty members both inside and outside of my department that my case is very strong, meaning I'm likely to be granted tenure. My current department has great scholars, is supportive, as is the dean of the school and faculty colleagues outside my department. The only issue is that I HATE living in Milwaukee.So, here's the dilemma. I have a job visit with Vanderbilt University this coming January. The Owen Graduate School of Management is a respectable school with good faculty, resources, etc. (as far as I know at the moment). Also, Nashville looks pretty good on paper as a place to live (e.g., decent Black middle-class population, good job growth, low cost of living, etc.). On the other hand, a colleague at Cornell asked me to apply for a position there as an Assistant Professor. Turns out, they don't want to consider me for a junior faculty spot, but potentially as an Associate Professor. They want me to come up there to give a research presentation early next semester to assess me for a senior faculty spot (with tenure) down the line (in say 1 or 2 years).What would you do in this situation? If Vanderbilt makes an offer do you (1) take it, or (2) pass in the hopes of getting the coveted Ivy-League spot later on? I like my current department outside of my woes about the city of Milwaukee. Bear in mind, a job at Cornell (in the Industrial and Labor Relations department), with their big dough, r