Becoming a private dick

hertzhoghertzhog 865 Posts
edited April 2012 in Strut Central
Hey, I entertained the idea of channeling my inner Philip Marlowe with some friends. Setting up a private detective agency, that is. I'm great with details and reading people, but my credentials ain't much. Connections I can probably manage. I 'm in Euroland, so the market might not be so flooded up here as it is in my American dream.. Please knowledge me or humor me, Soulstrut.

B/W I'm about to pop in Altman's The Long Goodbye, and just read a pretty excellent Chandler biography.

Comments

• PATXPATX 2,820 Posts
    I heard one good quality to have is to be really discreet.

• JuniorJunior 4,853 Posts
    I worked as a professional detective for a year after graduating. Initial chat up lines apart, 'hey, I'm a dick. A professional dick', the work was somewhat gruelling. 90% of it is building connections and organising data feeds as well as not freaking out when you see some of the information you get back. It's a highly profitable industry though if you get your foot through the front door. More than happy to pass on tips and tricks in this field if you're interested.

• DanteDante 371 Posts
    i was just thinking about private investigation the other day, as in: "i've never seen one of those in real life. i wonder if they still exist". of course, i have it associated with noir and shit.

good luck!

• PATXPATX 2,820 Posts
    What is the day to day like then?

Cheating spouses?
    Disability fraudsters?
    Complex international webs of intrigue and sexyness?

• tripledoubletripledouble 7,636 Posts
    i got a ride by a private detective while hitchhiking in colorado who told me story after story that mostly had to do with cheating spouses. those may have been the only ones interesting enough to share

• HollafameHollafame 844 Posts
    My mom was a P.I. for a while.