Suggestions to get new stuff

The SearchThe Search 13 Posts
edited August 2010 in Strut Central
Hi There,

I'm new to the Strut.
Been "collecting" records for about a year, so i'm still "fresh" to this game.

I like getting the more rare records, ranging form soul to funk to psych funk and jazzy euro funk.
I have some favorites that i like playing on and on and on...
And every record has a different reason way I play them that much.
When i'm looking for something simular to the stuff i like, i get stuck because it's hard to find something with the same vibe.. So at this moment I need some inspiration on my way to find some new records.
Could ya'll help me out/ give some advice on what to get/ listen?

This are the records i really dig and play often:

Euro funk
- Nico Gomez - Ritual
- Cortex - Troupeaux Blue
- Niagara - same (with the titites on the cover)
- Sunbirds - same on basf (kllaus weiss, fritz pauer)

Fusion stuff
- Deirde Wilson Tabac - same
- Shuggie Otis - Inspiration information
- Odyssey - same on MoWest
- Barbara and Ernie - Prelude to
- Black Merda - same on Chess

Funk
- Cane & Able - Same (the one with 'girl you move me')
- Lemuria - same
- Tony and reality - same

Anybody got any suggestions what to look out for?
Any help would be appreciated.

Cheerz,

The Search
Amsterdam

Comments

• tabiratabira 856 Posts
    The Search said:

Fusion stuff

- Odyssey - same on MoWest
    - Barbara and Ernie - Prelude to

I wouldn't call this fusion but if you like the 70s folky-jazzy stuff I'd recommend Batteaux S/T, Lou Bond S/T, Terry Callier on Cadet, Lani Hall Sundown Lady plus another male-female duet LP like the Barbara and Ernie - I forget the artists' names but it's known for a track called Chick-a-boom. Someone here might know. You can You Tube most of these artists to check them out first

• Hi Tabira,

Thanks for responding. The Chick-a-boom track is from Jimmie& Vella, got that record, nice one though..

Thanks!

• OkemOkem 4,617 Posts