Who hires Jazzy Jeff and

DORDOR Two Ron Toe 9,899 Posts
edited June 2009 in Strut Central
does not want him to play hip hop and kicks one of the greatest of all time off the turntables?

Comments

• thropethrope 750 Posts
    Kansas City's (white)Power & Light district.

• jleejlee 1,539 Posts
    many years ago, i heard that city referred to by some of its locals as: Klansas Shitty Misery.

Seems like its holding up its name well still.

• DORDOR Two Ron Toe 9,899 Posts
    "Paul says:

I was a stage tech for this show and I can tell you that the ONLY thing Jazzy Jeff was warned about was pushing his mix too hard. At the risk of damaging an audio system worth over 50 grand, he was POLITELY asked multiple times to lower his outputs. He acted like a complete prima donna - not a professional. Jeff was not removed from the stage, his completely disrepectful MC was. Jeff responded by walking off. There is an issue here of professionalism and responsibility for ones actions. How you can possibly chalk this up as racism is a total mindblower. You have to ask yourself...why would P&L book Jeff, knowing who he was and what he played if they intended to boot him off the stage in the name of racism. Does that sound like an intelligent PR move? The doors of P&L are open to anyone who comes to enjoy a safe, fun atmosphere."

"pushing his mix too hard"

What the hell does that even mean?

The dude meant 500 Grand btw.

But since when does a DJ have total control over the volume on a sound system in a club? Am I wrong?

I smell bullshit.

• keithvanhornkeithvanhorn 3,855 Posts

But since when does a DJ have total control over the volume on a sound system in a club?

right, its not like they just plug the speakers into his dj mixer and call it a day.

That's the story they are going with.. Which is complete bullshit. No DJ or artist has control of the main outs. Anyone that's played at an event with a decent sound systems knows this.