does the GRE require serious prep?

2»

Comments

• AlmondAlmond 1,427 Posts
    Thanks for all the knowledge dropped. I don't think I'd need a Kaplan course, and all the programs I might apply to will take my GRE score seriously. Hopefully I can just get a decent job instead, but that's probably not realistic right now. My best friend from high school will be working for Wells Fargo in SF for a $65K starting salary (though she'd be working around the clock). She got her $10K bonus early just for signing. WTF? I'll be starving for the next few years.

• all i can tell you is:

1. if you've taken the old school 1600 pt SAT exam, your score there is pretty indicative of the score you'll get on the GRE, give or take 100 pts. So use that as a baseline

2. ETS has free practice tests on their website, both written and electronic

3. Its all about practice, i studied for maybe 2 weeks prior, and did nothing but practice tests, and still did pretty decent. decent enough to offset my embarrassingly low undergrad GPA anyways.

• covecove 1,566 Posts
    I feel bad for Almond.
    F*ck, I'm unemployed, can barely pay the bills...but your curfew boggles me.

• nzshadownzshadow 5,518 Posts
    Almond.

Come to Amsterdam for a week or two. I'll sort you out mate.

• ReynaldoReynaldo 6,054 Posts
    Become a wild-eyed drifter.

I can get into a state school fine and live at home and have a curfew of 6 pm until I'm 25.

Whoa.

I was exaggerating a little. Moving back in would involve forgoing most of the independence I've grown used to as a college student living on my own. My parents watch Fox news, think that people in cold climates still live in igloos, still use VHS and believe that any fun had past 8: 30 pm is not fun but trouble. I'm slowly mentally preparing myself to be treated like a 16 year old again. Why the fusk did people have to buy houses they couldn't afford and ruin the economy and thus my job prospects?