Graphic Design Strut

SalamiFingazSalamiFingaz 21 Posts
edited May 2008 in Strut Central
Being that theres on occasional design related post on here every once in a while i wanted to seek experienced designers on here and ask for In June Itll be a year that I graduated from the all might Art Institute with my Bachelors ''receipt'' in Graphic design/fine arts. I graduated hoping to get a position where id be doing creative/ inspiring work full time, aren't we all? But i keep getting these jobs that im being utilized as a production tool, Dont get me wrong at my current position( Marketing Firm) I do get the occasional creative freedom for some projects and the people are great but its not projects id envision myself ever involved in. The day to day work is very boring and not challenging at all.Mocking up promotional products,airbrushing,placing logos. PM me and I can explain.I always wanted to build my professional portfolio at an agency where Id work under an Art Director where I would learn things to push myself but the positions I keep having to get to make ends meet are not heading me in that direction. Adrian Shaughnessy states that there is no wrong first job in ''How to Be a Graphic Designer: Without Losing Your Soul '' (great read) as a designer but im anxious to get my hands on some real projects. Branding, Ads, Posters, Album covers. Yunno the things that inspired us all in the first place.Im basically looking for some guidance, im becoming a bit discouraged about it all. But not at all thinking of quitting, I cant expect to get the dream job after year or even 5. Talk about your experiences and struggles to where you are now. I have alot to learn from you guys. How many designers are actually on here? is this a or cricket:

Comments

• pjl2000xlpjl2000xl 1,795 Posts