Diggin' Advice In India

davison89davison89 8 Posts
edited January 2008 in Strut Central
Hey, im off to India, Goa this Saturday (will be visiting other parts of the country), ive never been abroad looking for records so this is my first time, i have little knowledge of Indian music and wonderd if any of you can give me some tips on what to look for?Thanks alot.

Comments

• sabadabadasabadabada 5,966 Posts

• Danno3000Danno3000 2,850 Posts
    The Super Raer Super Valuable Indian pressing of this:

• deLYSdeLYS 388 Posts
    Just say lund chus to get in the inner circle and if someones asking too much $ say chup ke chut hai and they know you know the deal.

• alieNDNalieNDN 2,181 Posts
    Hey, im off to India, Goa this Saturday (will be visiting other parts of the country), ive never been abroad looking for records so this is my first time, i have little knowledge of Indian music and wonderd if any of you can give me some tips on what to look for?

Thanks alot.

no idea sorry, maybe somewhere in margao? probably bombay would be the best bet, let me know how the trip is, im headed there in the summer! goan musicians are the ish, my gramps was one.

• buttonbutton 1,475 Posts
    hire locals to do your digging for you

• hemolhemol 2,578 Posts
    I didn't do any digging when I was there in 2006. I also didn't see any records, but I wasn't looking for them. Greasing people's palms seems to go pretty far there though. Make sure you bring plenty of probiotics to stay healthy.

I don't know bollywood music much. I know a little bit about Hindustani classical, and less about Karnatik classical, but any titles in these genres should be worth buying as the caliber of professional classical musicians is usually stellar..

• subsub 311 Posts
    you go to delhi? i can let you know the contact of the biggest collector in india. rumours say that he and his dad have doubles of every record ever released in india.

• subsub 311 Posts