"make a monkey of"
    "fish story"
    "crazy like a fox"
    "like a lamb to the slaughter"
    "wolf in sheep's clothing"
    "wild goose chase"
    "dark horse"
    "look a gift horse in the mouth"

• when i was in grade school there'd always be some older person who called a bookbag a "satchel"

• nzshadownzshadow 5,518 Posts
    hold your horses

crikey dick

put up your dukes

• batmonbatmon 27,574 Posts
    Arbor Day

• bassiebassie 11,710 Posts
    rad

is 'rad' old people slang too? or just out of date?

rad

Is Rad a 70's thing or an 80's thang?

West Coast Linguists.....explain pleez.

• GaryGary 3,982 Posts
    rad

Well, I am a certified linguist and resident of the west coast, so let me answer this.

Yes, people still say rad. Well, white people anyways. I say it all the time. And I am a white people.

• knewjakknewjak 1,231 Posts

"crazy like a fox"

I've hear my father use 'dumb like a fox' to describe a seller who is pretending they dont know anything about the item they are selling.

what about: 'RATS!'

• SupergoodSupergood 1,213 Posts
    rad

tuff
    swell
    swanky

rad

Well, I am a certified linguist and resident of the west coast, so let me answer this.

Yes, people still say rad. Well, white people anyways. I say it all the time. And I am a white people.

Reading this thread, I am discovering that I may very well be a 70-yr old white woman from the Southern West Coast!!

rad

I know a white peoples still use it but Id like to know if its comes out of the 70's surfer crowd or the 80's mall crowd.

from etymonline.com

rad
    "x-ray dose unit," 1918, shortened form of radiation (q.v.). As shortened form of radical (n.), it is attested in political slang from 1820. Teen slang sense of "extraordinary, wonderful" is from late 1970s (see radical).

Teen slang sense of "extraordinary, wonderful" is from late 1970s (see radical). [/i]

Wicked

Teen slang sense of "extraordinary, wonderful" is from late 1970s (see radical). [/i]

Wicked