When is the last time you forgave someone?

GuzzoGuzzo 8,611 Posts
edited June 2007 in Strut Central
To forgive is divineId like to think that over the last few months I've had a lot of humbling experiences and many people whom I held grudges towards ended up being very helpful in this time, some of these people were even here on soulstrut. Those that I had grudges against had to deal with my asshole attitude towards them and looked past it to offer me some real help when I needed it.I've lived most of my adult life with the mantra of "forgive but never forget" but I've come to realize that never forgetting is lying to yourself about not holding a grudge.Recently I've forgave those tat put me through thier personal drug hell, their selfish ways, and forgiven myself for being a man with some fucked up beliefs on how one should operate within this world.So for all you hardheaded blowhards out there, when did you last let go of some hate and forgive someone?

Comments

• waxjunkywaxjunky 1,850 Posts

It's pretty much in my nature to forgive people. But not until I'm ready.

• Birdman9Birdman9 5,417 Posts
    I don't see the point of consciously holding grudges

If someone is sincere, what is gained by NOT forgiving them?

If someone doesn't KNOW you're pissed, what is gained by staying mad?

These are the things that I have to remind myself of all the time. That, and just because you have forgiven someone does not make them an integral part of your life. Sometimes all parties benefit from just moving on. But that anger part that people love to hold on to, that's what causes all the stress....all the forgiveness in the world won't help if you can't let go of that anger.

• DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
    that anger part that people love to hold on to, that's what causes all the stress....all the forgiveness in the world won't help if you can't let go of that anger.