Everything was going so well until...

2»

Comments

• bassiebassie 11,710 Posts
    King Curtis

I have this smoking King Curtis 45 on Trip at home called Soul Train (Parts 1 & 2) and it is !!

The horns are tight on that one.

No WEEEEEEEEEEEEEE like cars skidding a good song to a dead halt.

• FatbackFatback 6,746 Posts
    Never got it with Rollins

(or you don't like jazz )

• The_Hook_UpThe_Hook_Up 8,182 Posts
    Basically every King Curtis and Jr. Walker record is ruined by, well, them...a cool little vamp/groove is chugging along and then "WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE" some proto-SNL band bullshit horn solo

That's like hating water for being WET. That's what Curtis and Junior DID, and that's what I'm into, sorry. I hear that WEEEEEEEEEE and I'm like "about damn time!". Coltrane and them are okay in their place, but I'm no jazz expert, I just know what I like. (Never got it with Rollins, although this comp I have of Coltrane's Prestige stuff ain't half bad.)

And as far as the SNL pit band association, I'm not gonna stop listening to Eddie Floyd just 'cause some disco diva fucked up "Knock On Wood."

yeah but Chuck Higgins, Big Jay, Louis Jordon and the like did it SO much better and were SO LESS instrusive on the piece of music, they played around the tune not just dropping a turd in the punchbowl...and as far as SNL, I wasnt referring to the association, I was reffereing to the sound and style of that shit...you know neon signs reflected in the wet streets stuff...King and Jr. had this style that is nails on chalkboard to me.

• HarveyCanalHarveyCanal "a distraction from my main thesis." 13,234 Posts
    Sonic Youth - Mildred Pierce

• m_dejeanm_dejean Quadratisch. Praktisch. Gut. 2,946 Posts
    Basically every King Curtis and Jr. Walker record is ruined by, well, them...a cool little vamp/groove is chugging along and then "WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE" some proto-SNL band bullshit horn solo