virginia tech

Comments

• uniquely American

• I wouldn't attempt, or even really understand how to comment on the state of other countries politics or social issues.

I'm amazed at the number of people who are comfortable doing that, not particularly on this issue, but on many issues.

and yet

You don't JUST only not have guns down under, but you also don't have the drug problem, poverty problem, gang problem and all the history that would allow these things to exist..

Until the esteemed Doctor's post I had no idea that large parts of Australia were gun free and that crime was scarce.

I can't name a politician, a law or a political issue in Australia that I would attempt to speak on, as I have no knowledge and less interest.

If you think that somehow by taking a fellow Aussie at his word, and repeating his attitude in my post, that I've contradicted myself. So be it.

Instead of "repeating his attitude" maybe you mean "making simplistic assumptions"?

• RockadelicRockadelic Out Digging 13,993 Posts

Instead of "repeating his attitude" maybe you mean "making simplistic assumptions"?

Then educate my ass....what cities/towns in gun free Australia have the same gang/drug/poverty problems as a place like Philadelphia?

• SoulOnIceSoulOnIce 13,027 Posts
    uniquely American

Did you read your own link?

• DrBorisQDrBorisQ 298 Posts
    As nations, we should help and respect other countries, but I am growing tired of citizens of other nations telling us how to run things in the U.S. You do it your way, we'll do it ours. If we're "wrong," we'll figure it out in the end. Different countries, different mores, different customs and different populations can't run their countries the same, thangs just don't work the same way around the world.
    Peace
    T.N.

I wouldn't attempt, or even really understand how to comment (properly fix)[/b] the state of other countries politics or social issues. Word[/b]