brasialian DRUM BREAKS

Comments

• mannybolonemannybolone Los Angeles, CA 15,025 Posts
    you needs to hear the Kool & The Gang and Kool Is Back tunes. And then tell me which Brazilian records are twice as funky. I'd be thankful.

I'd be thankful too...because if this is the best in Brazilian funk there is, it doesn't set a very high bar to pass:

Once again, to be clear: I like the Manito LP. I think, as far as a mesh b/t American soul tunes and a Brazilian musical approach, it's pretty cool. But I don't think when I hear it. Like I said, I'm no expert in Brazilian joints but I just imagine there's got to be some crazy-ass-samba LPs that have songs that would torch this in a flat second.

As for the Invaders LP - I don't think people would suggest that as a BREAKS record. Caribbean funk? Sure...but it's not like the illest Island funk LP for drums ever recorded.

• spelunkspelunk 3,400 Posts

DJ Nuts from Brazil has some very b-boy friendly break-heavy mixes of all Brazillian stuff as well.

I've heard that WaxPo mix that came out and really enjoyed it. What else has he put out?

I know he has other tapes, but I have no clue where to get a hold of copies. That mix was available here really on a fluke after all the Keepintime DJs were blown away with what he was doing. He is also the turntablist champ of Brazil, to me he's on that J Rocc level of selection and skills. Definately a guy I'd like to meet next year when I go to Brazil.

• catalistcatalist 1,373 Posts
    I have a dope ass break by Wilson Simonal , it's on a 7" EP i have with Brasil En Fico on the same record.

One of my absolute favorite brazilian breaks that I have heard is by Dom Salvador , Dj Spinna keeps doubling it on brazilian funk mode...hot shit.. also the cover of Na Na Na hey hey on that same mix has some nice open drums too.

• JoeMojoJoeMojo 720 Posts