Woody Shaw Appreciation

FatbackFatback 6,746 Posts
edited February 2007 in Strut Central
Wow! What a rock solid discography. I'm just getting into his late 70s through mid-80s records. I don't what to say! Not a bad one in there.Maybe the greatest trumpet evar.

Comments

• eliseelise 3,252 Posts
    So FATBACK,

did you entice the dog under the table by puttin a little peanut butta on your foo-foo?

love,
    elise

• Maybe the greatest trumpet evar.

maybe...great tone... moontrane is killing it...also he played so many great sessions as a sideman, especially with art blakey's early 70's jazz messengers

• Wow! What a rock solid discography. I'm just getting into his late 70s through mid-80s records. I don't what to say! Not a bad one in there.

Maybe the greatest trumpet evar.

He's the Jackie McLean of trumpet--tons of soul but can also go the spiritual jazz route, as he did with Jackie McLean, McCoy Tyner, and Andrew Hill (this will make me listen to "Lift Every Voice and Sing" again, I suppose). I used to have his double album, "Blackstone Legacy," but seemed to have lost it somewhere along the way. I remember liking it quite a bit.

Everything I've heard with him involved has been good, especially those sides with Jackie McLean--"Demon's Dance" and "'Bout Soul."

• kennykenny 1,024 Posts
    totally cosign on this!

• FatbackFatback 6,746 Posts
    So FATBACK,

did you entice the dog under the table by puttin a little peanut butta on your foo-foo?

love,
    elise

bacon wrapped, my friend. peanuts give me hives.

(foo-foo )

• FatbackFatback 6,746 Posts

• eliseelise 3,252 Posts
    So FATBACK,

love,
    elise

bacon wrapped, my friend. peanuts give me hives.

(foo-foo )

that my sir is a filet mignon....

yiiiikes!

• deejdeej 5,125 Posts