resident djs

TREWTREW 2,037 Posts
edited May 2005 in DJ Talk / Mixes
just wondering how many of you out there are residents..moreso, how many residents out there have to put up with NONSENSE from the owners/bar staff?

Comments

• Deep_SangDeep_Sang 1,081 Posts
    There's always some nonsense, bar/club owners are a different breed and few actually care what about the music except for how it affects their pocketbook. And that's their prerogative, I can't hate on it, but it always sucks for those of us who do it for the music and the money. BTW who hasn't heard an owner use the phrase "I'm a businessman" at least once at a real eye rolling type moment, that ish always seems so trite- of course your a businessman, so am I, that's why i'm hitting you up for more $$$

• NiteKrawler45NiteKrawler45 1,062 Posts
    I'm a resident DJ at a local spot, Wonderland. The owner is a good guy who used to be hopelessly unorganized but over the last 4 months has been getting his act straight. He has a manager who is always cool to talk to and is 100% on top of things. For the most part, dealing with the bartending staff is smooth. Most of them I'm friends with by now. Only one has ever caused me an inconvenience, which was last Fri. She was bartending upstairs while I was spinning. Basically situation 1 is that I put my email list and pen at the far end of the bar, and at some point in the night she threw it away. When I asked about it she brushed it off and even made a joke about it. Thanks. Situation 2: I came down from the booth in between songs to grab another drink, told her what I needed, and she was extremely slow and even helped a few other people before me. Keep in mind she is aware that I'm the DJ. I barely made it back in time to mix into the next track, took years. The entire night, (mostly before and after spinning) whenever I spoke to her she gave me an attitude and made an effort to end conversation as fast as possible. All in all, Wonderland is a great place to DJ w