Gabor Szabo vs. Larry Coryell

GenePontecorvoGenePontecorvo 5,612 Posts
edited July 2016 in Music Talk

vs.

Is it even a fair fight?

Comments

• "The Lady in the Moon" by Szabo is KILLER right now.

• Too easy-- Gabor Szabo.

And yeah, I was tempted to post "Lady in the Moon" in the "part of a song that just kills you" thread for the piece a few minutes in where he starts playing weird overtones.

• izm707izm707 1,107 Posts
    Gabor...all the way thru. Dude helped me a lot and he dont even know it ;-)

• MondeyanoMondeyano Reykjavik 863 Posts
    Too easy-- Gabor Szabo.

• wooshiewooshie 490 Posts
    Yo, this is crazy. Gabor hands down.

Something about Larry's stuff, it always starts out great and then I get bored half way through the song.

Gabor just nails it every fucking time. There's this one song on Mizrab, I can't remember the title, I've been listening to that almost every day for about 6 months

• G_BalliandoG_Balliando 3,916 Posts
    Too easy-- Gabor Szabo.

like to add - spellbinder is my shit lately

• Yo, this is crazy. Gabor hands down.

So Gabor is whoopin dood's ass in the ring right now...who runs in to make it a 3 Way Dance and a little more competitive?

Those early Coryell records on Vanguard are pretty solid to great though. But I guess he doesn't have the staying power of THE SORCERER.

• PonyPony 2,283 Posts
    Gabor Szabo - Breezin'

One of the smoothest tracks I know of.

while i do enjoy a lot of coryell's stuff at times, he did too much fusiony crap to compare to szabo's far-more-solid discography. you must find a better competitor... maybe a more latin-influenced guitarist from the era?

oh by the way, let's not forget:

er for me.

• PABLOPABLO 1,921 Posts
    I celebrate Szabo's entire catalog.

• gravelheadwrapgravelheadwrap corn 948 Posts
    Too easy-- Gabor Szabo.

like to add - spellbinder is my shit lately

Thanks for mentioning this---been listening to him quite a lot lately. Totally forgot I owned Spellbinder...