i can't narrow down my musical tastes

2»

Comments

• dstill808dstill808 704 Posts
    Unless you work at a record store
    I spend all day spinning wax in a store, and honestly it's terrible for ones depth of listening, or depth of knowledge for that matter. Having all this music in front of me and talking to people who love it has encouraged me to devote some listening time to almost anything, in an effort to understand the appeal, and have some frame of referance. Which is great, but also pretty superficial. Someone will tell me about a favorite record of theirs, I'll listen to it two or three times in a row, form an opinion on it, and then it will sell and I might not see it again for months, if that. It's wonderful to have access to all this great music, but I've been listening to hip-hop for 15 years, and to soul (at least with any degree of seriousness) for about 7, and I can still get schooled[/b] on either in a hot second. And now I'm trying to fit in some degree of perspective on Sonic Youth b-sides and second tier Stone's immitators? Both of which are fairly mainstream anyway as far as young adult tastes run.

It's a beautiful thing when I simply can't fit in all the music I want to have heard a thousand times. But when I catch myself wanting to know[/b] everything just for familiarity's sake, it's kind of vain, and pretty said.

• yuichiyuichi Urban sprawl 11,331 Posts

In the interest of being constructive, though, I???d be interested in hearing how folks feel about the trade-offs that come with this diversification of taste. By which I mean, unless you work at a record store, or don???t work at all, or are unconventionally employed, or aren???t seriously sharing your time with a significant other, getting into a wider range of music pretty much necessarily means sacrificing some depth, whether it be depth of acquisition or depth of listening. How do y???all feel about that?