I'm Fucked Strut (Shady Businessman Related)

DJFerrariDJFerrari 2,411 Posts
edited May 2006 in Strut Central
Wow... I'm having an awesome week. I hate to do another 'Strut to the Rescue' thread, but I may need some legal and/or banking advice here. Call this Ferrari is naive part II.Here's the backstory. I went to Santa Clara University, class of '02, right in the heart of Silicon Valley and just at the tail end of the startup craze. I caught the entrepreneur bug and founded a company with 3 of my friends... AllDorm Things started out real well, we got a lot of investment and a lot of press... the 4 of us were even on the cover of Entrepreneur Magazine before we had graduated college. But we couldn't grow fast enough to sustain the business so I left after I graduated because I needed a job with an actual salary. After I left, the voice of ethical business, things went to shit real fast. The main guy in charge quickly transformed into the shadiest business dude ever, screwing over anyone he could to make a quick buck. I did not realize this at the time because I was out of there and he hid it real well. So one of the things I asked for when I left was to be taken off as a co-signer to a Bank of America line of credit that was only meant to pay for a product while the money from the contracts came in. I was told that wouldn't be a problem and was then told that I was taken off of it. Now, my critical mistake was trusting this guy because he was a friend at the time. Turns out, he never took my name off the account and as of today, all the assets of said company have been foreclosed and all the debt is in the names of those that co-signed.Luckily I'm only on that one account. The other guys are way more screwed, but it's still $100K that I'm accountable for.I can't think of any potential legal action because all of this was done on dude's word, but could I sue this guy? He's broke, but his dad is loaded. There are tons of people that could testify against his charact