Bush Authorizing Domestic Spying

Comments

• theory9theory9 1,128 Posts

But just as a layman, I also think the idea to hijack planes and fly them into buildings was, for lack of a better word, novel and something that most of us, including most gov't officials, were not prepared to anticipate (though I'm sure there were some who had theorized the danger). I, for one, am not ready to blame Bush for 9/11 per se. But everything since then? Yeah, that's on him.

Vehicles have been used as suicide devices since the early 80's--check the Marines barracks incident in Beirut. Planes had been discussed by the CIA and FBI as possible weapons since at least the mid 90's. When the 9/11 hijackers attended flight school, the FBI immediately acknowledged that suicide planes was a possibility. No one, however, counted on terrorists having the will to carry it out.

• We live in a country that allows organizations like NAMBLA and Al Quaeda to exist.

Uh, I'm pretty sure Al Quaeda is not a legal organization in America. And I'm not sure what they have to do with NAMBLA. Both offend people but for completely different reasons. I think the NRA is offensive but I wouldn't compare them with either other organization.

Al Queda isn't? I better give the ACLU a call.

• dayday 9,611 Posts
    We live in a country that allows organizations like NAMBLA and Al Quaeda to exist.

Uh, I'm pretty sure Al Quaeda is not a legal organization in America. And I'm not sure what they have to do with NAMBLA. Both offend people but for completely different reasons. I think the NRA is offensive but I wouldn't compare them with either other organization.

Al Queda isn't? I better give the ACLU a call.

Your moral convictions are mind boggling.

• they knew these guys were Al Quaeda but could not get the authority to do anything to stop them from potential attacks.