Al Green Vs. Marvin Gaye?

batmonbatmon 27,574 Posts
edited April 2005 in Strut Central
I had this debate years ago in an after hours joint.I go with Gaye but the other dude had some legit points. I felt that Marvin's strength was his versatility.His subject matter went beyond love themes. I was wondereing who you other strutters would pick in this debate?

Comments

• Jonny_PaycheckJonny_Paycheck 17,825 Posts
    As a complete artist I'd go with Marvin, on the sheer strength of his output. Dude made great records into the 80s... also, the versatility and writing prowess. But it's a hard call on sheer singing skill... I might have to go with Al on the raw sexy hot and bothered funky style and the sheer emotion in his voice. I mean that dude could squeeze sweat out of a rock.

• ScottScott 420 Posts
    I'm just glad they kept their rivalry on wax and didn't take it to the streets.

• MangomanMangoman 549 Posts
    Well after reading the Marvin Gaye book I pick AL Green! Marvin had skills but after reading the book I lost some respect for dude... Al Green fo sho! He went with his gut and came out on top!

BUT CURTIS beats them BOTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CURTIS LIVE!

• batmonbatmon 27,574 Posts
    Maybe I should rephrase the question so that this a debate about the art.We're not judging these artist personal lives. Just the art.Just the art. Just the art.

• after reading the book I lost some respect for dude...

The book is now officially on my 'to read' list, but in the meantime, can i get some brief further info on 'Why'?

ive read Divided Soul. but so what, Ive listened to Here My Dear. That album is so much more insightful. fuck that people magazine gossip info. Critique the product.