Bitcoin - Yay or Nay

phongonephongone 1,652 Posts
edited February 2014 in Strut Central
i think the idea of a virtual, independent currency untethered by any central authority or regulatory scheme is very compelling. But the collapse of bitcoin exchange Mt. Gox and China's restrictions on the currency demonstrates that it is still very volatile. Anyone invest in bitcoin? Thoughts?

B/W - Value of single bitcoin is around $588 US$ today.

Comments

• phongonephongone 1,652 Posts
    My bad. Did a search but the prior threads did not come up.

• Pure lunatic bullshit.

• JimsterJimster Cruffiton.etsy.com 6,885 Posts
    I am an IT geek by trade and I gassed at length last year about t3h bitcoinz with a couple of mates who were interested in "Mining" them. I am by no means an expert, but my understanding, in basic terms (which are the kind of terms I like) is:

Each Bitcoin is backed by a complex unique ID which is hard to generate and requires a lot of CPU time. Typically, days.

Mining = generating a new Bitcoin ID with a box full of processors. More processors = more coins generated.

Obviously, leaving a box full of processors on 24/7 consumes power, so you have to offset the cost of power with how often you generate a valid ID.

One mate has spunked 2K sterling on a Bitcoin mining rig and reckoned he'd get his money back after 6 months.

But this was a while back in Bitcoin terms. The thing is, the ID depends on factoring in all the other IDs of Bitcoins already generated.

So, you really need to be shifting a lot of bits to extract coins these days. Everyday it will get harder.

If you liken this to a gold-rush, gone are the days of picking nuggets out of the stream, you need industrial, Channel-Tunnel-style plant to get deep into the mountain to get at those scraps. So the cost of entry to the goldrush is now very high, and not likely to get cheaper. Rocking up with a shovel is not an option.