computer programming

spoonieteespoonietee 110 Posts
edited September 2014 in Strut Central
hi all

often-lurker, less often-poster, introduced myself a couple times i believe. i'm wondering, do we have any professional/amateur/hobbyist/whatever programmers here? i've begun researching basic computer science, just finished 'code: the hidden language of computer hardware and software', i'm a few chapters in to 'think python', playing around in LightTable and Terminal on me macbook. i've not been thusly captivated by any other intellectual pursuit--unbelievably fascinating stuff. i don't have any specific question, i'm just wondering if there are similarly interested folks here?

Comments

• ostost Montreal 1,375 Posts
    I have a Bachelors in Computer Science. It's a field that's very vast so you can get in to a lot of different sub fields and find something that interests you more within the context of comp sci.

• BrianBrian 7,618 Posts
    learning python right now so i can automate myself out of a job

• mickalphabetmickalphabet deep inna majestic segue 374 Posts
    ha! a python program recently 'retired' me from my job, bless it.. i haven't looked back

• c/c++/java dude here.

• ppadilhappadilha 2,233 Posts
    I learned Pascal in high school.

• JimsterJimster Cruffiton.etsy.com 6,885 Posts
    ost said:
    I have a Bachelors in Computer Science. It's a field that's very vast so you can get in to a lot of different sub fields and find something that interests you more within the context of comp sci.

Mine says "Computation". Our gaffer was the last Ph.D student of the one ALAN TURING.

The money was in knowing "How"; the interesting things are all in knowing "Why".

I was teed-up for a Ph.D but then being poor got in the way.

A man who knows how will always work for a man who knows why.

And then that man will be put out of work by someone who also knows how, in a country where they work for peanuts.

Still, without the internet, there would be no Strut.