Anyone else here in advertising?

Anto99Anto99 244 Posts
edited August 2012 in Strut Central
Namely, the creative department?

Comments

• DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
    I work in Marketing in a Creative Services department. Why, what's up?

• Anto99Anto99 244 Posts
    No reason. Just curious if there was anyone else here I could gripe about the biz with...

• Anto99Anto99 244 Posts
    Was at DDB. Now freelancing at Leo Burnett.

Oh, right on. I'd launch into a litany of complaints, but bad-mouthing one's employer around here has already gotten one Strutter fired.

• Anto99Anto99 244 Posts
    Agreed.

• DJBombjackDJBombjack Miami 1,665 Posts
    Anto99 said:
    Was at DDB. Now freelancing at Leo Burnett.

I'm a Art Director. In Miami. The market here is terrible. Be thankful you work for an established company with a great rep.
    I recommend this book - a great read, even if you're not a graphic designer.

http://www.amazon.com/Graphic-Designer-without-Expanded-Edition/dp/1568989830/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1345647687&sr=8-1&keywords=how+graphic+design+without+soul

• RAJRAJ tenacious local 7,779 Posts

• Anto99Anto99 244 Posts
    Cool. Thanks. Yeah, been at this for a decade now. As with anything, it's good and bad. Freelance is a whole different ball game though. Kinda liking it after 6 months.

• Anto99Anto99 244 Posts
    Had a feeling you might be after seeing the Tony Scott post.

RAJ said:

Of course, I work in non-profit marketing. Getting people to watch PBS and visit cultural institutions and the like. Maybe if someone had done a better job marketing cancer research institutions, Bill Hicks would still be alive.

• RockadelicRockadelic Out Digging 13,993 Posts
    DB_Cooper said:
    RAJ said:

Of course, I work in non-profit marketing. Getting people to watch PBS and visit cultural institutions and the like. Maybe if someone had done a better job marketing cancer research institutions, Bill Hicks would still be alive .