Moving to Washington DC advice?

vinylstalkervinylstalker 397 Posts
edited February 2012 in Strut Central
Wassup strut.
So my wife just got word she landed a very cool teaching position
@ the Kennedy center in dc. We have decided to accept and move
the family up there this summer. I visit dc every 15 months or so,
my father and sister live on the city, so I'm vaguely familiar.

Questions :
Anybody work in theater there or know someone who does?
I'm a theatrical live sound engineer looking for a gig.

Shit is crazy expensive in the city. Maryland or Virginia for housing?

Who lives in dc? Who used to? What say you?
Any other anecdotes or info appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• DelayDelay 4,530 Posts
    vinylstalker said:
    Wassup strut.
    So my wife just got word she landed a very cool teaching position
    @ the Kennedy center in dc. We have decided to accept and move
    the family up there this summer. I visit dc every 15 months or so,
    my father and sister live on the city, so I'm vaguely familiar.

Questions :

Shit is crazy expensive in the city. Maryland or Virginia for housing?

Who lives in dc? Who used to? What say you?
    Any other anecdotes or info appreciated.

Thanks!
    JFK said it best:
    "DC is the home of northern hospitality, and southern efficiency"

couldn't be more poignant. it has gotten a lot better over the last few years. nothing is really all that cheap regardless of location. basically it boils down to how comfortable you are being robbed. if not so much, you'll probably need to commute.

• Thanks possum.
    Not worried about crime. We're moving from Nola.
    So if I can stand some gulliness, where do you recommend?
    Dad lives on 14th and Newton. Colombia circle I think?
    That area seems mostly Latino, and maybe cheaper,
    so I'm starting my search around there.

Schools? The kid will be starting eighth grade when we move.

Oh and I will say I'm super stoked on DC from what I've researched.