Best Places to Live - NY Mag - NRR

13»

Comments

• DB_CooperDB_Cooper Manhatin' 7,823 Posts
    UWS, much like Park Slope, reminds me far too much of Berkeley for me to ever be able to live there. lol.

I feel ya but the Upper West Side still has a Old Jewish thang w/ an influx of Puerto Ricans in the mix, along w/ Harlem Black folk right above it. Its still has some links to its dirty days.

I dont know if Berkeley or Park Slope has the same history of grit underneath the Yuppie Steez.

Right behind Lincoln Center are some Projects.

Does Berkeley and Park Slope have a Needle Park?

There's a an underbelly of "funk" on the UWS that isnt in Park Slope.

I ride for the Upper West Side, but I'm no expert. Beats the f*ck out of Midtown, but pretty much anything does. Tess and I have been heading up there quite a bit lately. There's a great craft fair/flea market going on around Columbus and maybe 75 for the next couple of weekends, but no, no records there. None worth spending your time looking through anyway. I also highly recommend French Roast on 85th and Broadway for an authentic Euro cafe deal. Cappuccino at 11:30, Maker's Mark at noon-type steez. I'd live there if money weren't an issue.

• mannybolonemannybolone Los Angeles, CA 15,025 Posts
    Upper West Side is my dream hood.

Does Absolute Bagels qualify as UWS? Because I'll ride for that much!

Damn Odub with the secret sauce! That is the spot. Only a couple blocks from my all-time favorite pizza spot. Had to be something at Columbia that brought you that far uptown, right?

Naw. 1) My friend used to live in that neighborhood and would rave about how awesome the bagels are. I was some what skeptical until I went to visit and had to agree the hype was justified.

And 2) my wife has a friend who literally lives around the corner and every time we go to NY, she visits and I tag along just so I can get my everything bagel w/ lox cream cheese on at Absolute.