THE BEST RECORD OF THE YEAR CAME OUT TODAY

Comments

• deejdeej 5,125 Posts
    haha im just having some fun

• so we agree that "turn back time" is classic material.
    i agree that the video has her rocking some classic material

versace had her looken like a plucked turkey!

• deejdeej 5,125 Posts
    anyway while i cant imagine this being anything more than the dap-tones of disco it sounds like this LP may have some joints

• Al Kent is that dude. I wouldn't write it off so quick

Then again I like the Dap Tones.

• spelunkspelunk 3,400 Posts
    No diss to Thes but that's kind of a revisionist way of looking at it.

There's no real "commercial vs. underground" disco debate... it's more like good vs. bad

I'm no expert but I've gotta disagree with this. While there isn't a commercial vs. underground debate, it's not simply good and bad - there are so many different flavors of disco records that there's room for some "one man's trash is another's treasure" stuff to happen. There's the sappy string-heavy disco, cheesy euro disco with no swing to it, loft disco with weird effects, percussion-heavy disco breaks ala some UBB tracks. And if you look at what hip-hop DJs were playing in the late 70s/early 80s, they created their own category of disco records purely by selection.

I suspect the folks who think they don't like disco just haven't heard the disco records that click with them. I know it took me awhile to understand this, but it's very true - I really couldn't care less about most disco records but there are some gems I've heard that I'd love to have.

• deejdeej 5,125 Posts