How much time do you practice DJing?

GnatGnat 1,183 Posts
edited November 2005 in DJ Talk / Mixes
Out of idle curiosity: How long have you been DJing? What kind of DJ are you and how much do you practice? Also, how and what do you practice? What are your weaknesses and how did you overcome them if at all? Strengths? Do you BPM everything or go by feel?For example, I've been DJing for about 3 years. I'm a bedroom DJ that is starting to gig out and I would say I practice @ home 3-4 hours a week. I mainly practice mixing new material and new genres (starting to deviate from hip-hop lately and incoporate less "safe" material where the BPM fluctuates). I scratch some but do not make that my focus. I'm terribly right handed and were it not for my RANE, wouldn't scratch on my right turntable at all. I'm a little TOO perfectionistic about beat matching and didn't really learn to do BIG CUTS until 1.5 years into DJing. My focus on BPM and beatmatching is a strength as well as a weakness in that I like making REALLY smooth transitions but end up ignoring a gang of material because it is not within BPM range.I realize this is a convoluted slew of questions but I was just really curious as to the mental-technical side of DJing and how OTHER DJs conceptualize their ability and technique.

Comments

• BigSpliffBigSpliff 3,266 Posts
    I used to be like you. Now I just stare at the labels spinning round. Sometimes I play one track, lift the needle and play it again. Of course I don't get out that much.

• do you really get a lot of gigs playing bedrooms?

I never thought of doing that.

GIG

• GnatGnat 1,183 Posts
    do you really get a lot of gigs playing bedrooms?

Your cheekiness necessitates the obligatory response:
    "I get paid for giggin @ your MOM's bedroom."

Sabadabada, graduate of the Donald Rumsfeld School of Deductive Reasoning.

do you really get a lot of gigs playing bedrooms?

Your cheekiness necessitates the obligatory response: