Poll: Miles Davis or John Coltrane

buttonbutton 1,475 Posts
edited December 2011 in Strut Central
Spent a little bit of the afternoon listening to these guys again. Just wondering if the Strut collective had a preference either way. I'm a heavily Coltrane leaning fellow myself.

annnnd go...

Comments

• My buddy swore off Miles Davis after reading about how he used to physically beat Coltrane (who was a pacifist). I appreciate Davis' immense contributions to Jazz music but Coltrane took it to a whole other place and level. My vote is definitely with COLTRANE

• buttonbutton 1,475 Posts
    Yeah, I'm not really a huge expert on their back stories. But its pretty common knowledge that Miles was a seriously jaded MF, whereas Coltrane was trying to unlock a spiritual eden of some kind. Funny then how Coltrane's music was always so much more violent in comparison to Miles'

• RishanRishan 454 Posts
    Coltrane all the way

• unityunity 179 Posts
    TheKindCromang said:
    My buddy swore off Miles Davis after reading about how he used to physically beat Coltrane (who was a pacifist). I appreciate Davis' immense contributions to Jazz music but Coltrane took it to a whole other place and level. My vote is definitely with COLTRANE

Never heard about this, but Miles loved boxing and was involved in boxer training. I voted for Miles, fwiw.

• leonleon 883 Posts
    A love supreme is the ultimate spiritual jazz piece imo, for that alone he gets my vote.

• strataspherestratasphere Blastin' the Nasty 1,035 Posts
    leon said:
    A love supreme is the ultimate spiritual jazz piece imo, for that alone he gets my vote.

I hold his Kulu Se Mama lp in the same regard.

• batmonbatmon 27,574 Posts
    Music pleez.

Hittin women and doing heroin dont count.