What is a good way to gage the price of a record? (novice seller - R)

BruceGeetzBruceGeetz 97 Posts
edited October 2011 in Strut Central
Pockets are a bit tight these days, and I have decided that I can live with selling some pieces to knock out some bills.

Where do you guys look up prices at? Discogs? Popsike? Gemm?

Or I guess the better question would be, how do you decide what to price a record? Obviously condition factors in, but to what extent?

I apologize if I sound vague, but I'm really a newbie when it comes to sales. Any help would be appreciated!

Comments

• KadinkKadink Mainstream hip-hop is losing its street edge 98 Posts
    collectorsfrenzy.com and popsike.com

• BruceGeetz said:
    Pockets are a bit tight these days, and I have decided that I can live with selling some pieces to knock out some bills.

Where do you guys look up prices at? Discogs? Popsike? Gemm?

Or I guess the better question would be, how do you decide what to price a record? Obviously condition factors in, but to what extent?

I apologize if I sound vague, but I'm really a newbie when it comes to sales. Any help would be appreciated!

I think selling is a giant pain in the ass, and I have a lot of respect for the patience of those who do it regularly. But since this a a value question rather than a selling one I'll throw in my 2 cents as a buyer. Things like popsike and collector's frenzy are really only ever of any use at all for records that are higher value in my experience, and even then only if the listing you find is recent. Discogs is useful because even if the prices you find on there don't reflect the real value of a record, it still tells you at what price and condition somebody else is selling the same record you are, and where they wlll go to buy it if you ask more than the other guy. Obviously this applies only to more common pieces.