Ebay vs Set sale lists

DigginDiggin 319 Posts
edited April 2005 in Strut Central
A lot of people here auction off $10-30 lps on ebay. A lot of times I don't bother bidding because it's too much of a hassle. Shipping overseas is expensive so you might wanna combine shipping and you only win one auction etc. ...Are ebay prices on fairly "common" records (excluding overhyped lps/genres) that much higher than what you'd get on a set sale list?

Comments

• be afraid be very afraid...friends help friends raise bids?!!?!?

• LaserWolfLaserWolf Portland Oregon 11,517 Posts
    A lot of people here auction off $10-30 lps on ebay. A lot of times I don't bother bidding because it's too much of a hassle. Shipping overseas is expensive so you might wanna combine shipping and you only win one auction etc. ...

Are ebay prices on fairly "common" records (excluding overhyped lps/genres) that much higher than what you'd get on a set sale list?

I've been doing set sales for 15 years now. I rarely do auctions.

This week I will be putting some rare Asian funk up on ebay.

I think people do ebay because it is an easy way to get your records out to a lot of people and the thrill of occasionally getting $30.00 for a common dollar record.

Dan

• RAJRAJ tenacious local 7,779 Posts
    A lot of people here auction off $10-30 lps on ebay. A lot of times I don't bother bidding because it's too much of a hassle. Shipping overseas is expensive so you might wanna combine shipping and you only win one auction etc. ...

Are ebay prices on fairly "common" records (excluding overhyped lps/genres) that much higher than what you'd get on a set sale list?

I've been doing set sales for 15 years now. I rarely do auctions.

This week I will be putting some rare Asian funk up on ebay.

I think people do ebay because it is an easy way to get your records out to a lot of people and the thrill of occasionally getting $30.00 for a common dollar record.

Dan