IT Strut - Any of ya'll ever taken the A+ exam?

JectWonJectWon (@_@) 1,654 Posts
edited November 2010 in Strut Central
So, I know the exam isn't any real measure of IT knowledge/ability but my work is paying for it and it helps me get into some more fun departments within the company.

Anyways, I took an online course courtesy of my employer and I'm about to take the actual two part exam. I was wondering if anyone had any advice. I've taken a grip of practice quizzes and exams via this course but I just realized I really haven't talked to anyone about what to expect.

Also, has anyone taken the Networking+ exam that compTia also offers?

Thanks.

Comments

• i'm not A+ certed, but i have a handful of MS certs. you did the right thing... take tons of practice exams. good luck!

• SPlDEYSPlDEY Vegas 3,375 Posts
    A+ isn't so difficult.

I studied for it by going to Borders, and grabbing one of those big books, and writing down everything I didn't know. Every day for a week until I had the book memorized. I also had 5 years of computer experience before I took it though.

- spidey

• JectWonJectWon (@_@) 1,654 Posts
    Sweet that's what I figured. Also, whatsup with those MS cert's? I head if you rack up enough of them (or the significant ones) you can get some pretty sweet contract gig's. Any truth to that?

• JectWon said:
    Sweet that's what I figured. Also, whatsup with those MS cert's? I head if you rack up enough of them (or the significant ones) you can get some pretty sweet contract gig's. Any truth to that?

that is what i have herad as well. there are tons of them, and ive only begun to scratch the surface.

cookbook said:
    JectWon said:

that is what i have herad as well. there are tons of them, and ive only begun to scratch the surface.

Cool...well if you don't mind I might hit you up every so often to get your take on them. I think after I get N+ I'll start getting some MS certs.