renter's insurance for my records

davidwingatedavidwingate 748 Posts
edited June 2009 in Strut Central
I know this subject has been discussed several times, but I am totally am serious about getting my collection insured! Now I have done the research and found that renter's insurance is easy to get. However, I need to prove with receipts how much my collection is worth if something were to happen. I have been collecting for more than 23 years, and I certainly don't have receipts from back then. Plus, not all my records were bought if u know what I mean. Then there is the fact I may have paid $1 for a record that is now worth $400. So my question is how do I find a person/company to appraise my collection so I can then I proof it's worth? Has anyone done this before? Please let a fellow strutter know the deal!amir

Comments

• Jonny_PaycheckJonny_Paycheck 17,825 Posts
    Just get it appraised. I can do it, or really any dealer/shop owner/professional record dude.

I do take records as payment!

• lol!!! I am sure you do! anyway, I will get at u soon about then.

Another person to talk to is Abby Klein, who had an appraisal done after a flood. That was for a claim, but the process shouldn't be too different.

That having been said, I simply said a number to my insurer and they wrote it in. I don't have a whole lot of crazy valuable stuff at my house, but they didn't require an appraisal either.

• marumaru 1,450 Posts
    is it possible to just keep a database of your collection, then if anything does happen file a claim based on the list? or does someone have to actually see the pieces?

• HorseleechHorseleech 3,830 Posts