Lady is fined $2 million for downloading 24 songs

Comments

• Birdman9Birdman9 5,417 Posts
    i disagree. the riaa has a duty to pursue claims on behalf of its members so long as this copyright law exists. if i was an artist covered by the riaa, i'd think they are doing a lousy job, considering how piracy has become the norm.

what do you even mean by "for attorneys to make money"? attorneys didn't invent this law, the legislature did.

we don't deserve to get paid for doing work?

sure attorneys need to eat too, but I don't think a lot of people understand that the system is not there to settle disputes or right wrongs, it's an industry. People who think that going to court for the principle are fooling themselves unless they have an industry behind them. This woman was foolish (or perhaps recieved foolish counsel) in going to trial. Her attorney benefits even if she loses, so bad advice does not really hurt him, he will get paid before she ever pays the RIAA, you know this. So $5k would have been the option to take, and the bullies have the upper hand. Pay the thugs their money or get bled out.

• twoplytwoply Only Built 4 Manzanita Links 2,914 Posts
    I think what Birdman is saying is that it's a bit ridiculous that such a scenario, which is about giving every ounce of protection available to large, multi-million dollar corporations, would take place in a court of law, which ideally would be used for the practice of meting justice, as opposed to over-punishing the relatively poor to the delight of the grossly-rich.

• as my least favourite law prof. used to say: "the law is how it is."

also, how does the this woman's lawyer get paid when she inevitably files for bankruptcy?

as my least favourite law prof. used to say: "the law is how it is."

also, how does the this woman's lawyer get paid when she inevitably files for bankruptcy?