Options

FIRED!! (wrongful dismissal R ?)

edited May 2009 in Strut Central
Exactly 5 months after starting a job, I was let go without notice.I passed the 3 month probationary period with flying colors and have made significant contributions during my time there.There were no disciplinary issues. I never missed a day of work, never late, never pulled into an office to talk about anything I was doing wrong, etc.I was told that I was being let go because of "fit". The real reason (I assume) is that the manager wants to replace me with the temp who has become a smoking buddy over the same period of time.I'm no lawyer, but this sounds like wrongful dismissal. That said, I have only been employed with them for 5 months.Is it worth my while to take legal action?What can I expect in terms of financial compensation, and how long do these things take before being resolved?Thank you in advance for your help and advice.

Comments

• SoulOnIceSoulOnIce 13,027 Posts
    What is "fit?"

• ElectrodeElectrode Los Angeles 3,085 Posts
    A company can do that without notice. You, I assume, signed a paper agreeing to those terms. Whether it's unfriendly and bad form is up for debate, but it's perfectly legal.

• GaryGary 3,982 Posts
    damn, you shoulda joined a union!

• Options
    By "fit", I was told that I was not "entrepreneurial" enough.

I pointed out 4 things I had done that were "entrepreneurial". Numbers were doubled over the same period last year that prove my work.

Manager then talked about my need for "structure" (asking questions about accounts I was responsible for) and that they can't provide me with "structure" (ie) she can't be bothered to answer any questions I have--I need to go figure shit out on my own.

• LaserWolfLaserWolf Portland Oregon 11,517 Posts
    damn, you shoulda joined a union!

• Options